Top Gluten Free Alternatives to Beer: Try Mead!

Our Top Six Gluten-Free Beer Alternatives Are:

1. Ginger Beer:

Both an alcoholic and non-alcoholic carbonated beverage made with ginger, water, sugar and yeast (it's gluten-free!). It has a spicy, robust flavor perfect over ice with a slice of lime and a sprig of mint. Where to Buy Ginger Beer.

2. Hard Cider:

Alcohol made from fermenting apples and yeast, it's naturally gluten-free. Hard Cider typically has an ABV of 6% or higher. Where to Buy Hard Cider

3. Hard Seltzer:

Alcohol made from fermenting cane sugar or other sugars with carbonated water and extracts for flavor. It's touted as healthy, but hard seltzer's nutrition value depends solely on the ingredients, we recommend Flying Embers or Press. Where to Buy High-Quality Hard Seltzers

4. Lonkero:

This Finnish "long drink" is a crisp, low ABV beverage made from a blend of gin and grapefruit soda. Where to Buy

5. Mead:

Alcohol made from honey, water and yeast. It's gluten-free and can be dry to sweet, low ABV to high, It's our TOP recommendation for alternatives to beer. Where to Buy

6. Gluten-Free Beer:

Typically made from grains that are naturally free of gluten (like sorghum or brown rice), other variants use an enzyme in the brewing process that breaks up gluten (gluten reduced beers). This recommendation is a gimme, but it's still an alternative that appeals to beer-lovers. If you have high gluten sensitivity make sure you read the label, some gf beers are just "low-gluten". Where to Buy:

Top Recommendation for Gluten-Free Beer Alternative: Mead

For those of you who are looking for a gluten free alternative to beer, we've got just the thing. Mead is a delicious, ancient beverage made from fermented honey, and it's completely gluten free! Here's everything you need to know about this unique drink.

History of Mead:

Mead is thought to be one of the oldest fermented beverages in the world, dating back to at least 7,000 BC. It was traditionally made by fermenting honey with water, then adding fruits, spices, or other flavors to create a variety of different styles. Today, mead is enjoying a resurgence in popularity as craft meaderies are popping up all over the world.

Versatility of Mead:

Mead can be still or sparkling, dry or sweet, and it can be made in a wide range of styles. The one common denominator is that all mead contains honey as its main ingredient. If you're looking for a gluten free alternative to beer that's light and refreshing, dry mead is a great option. Or, if you're in the mood for something sweet and decadent, try a dessert mead made with fruit and spices. There are endless possibilities when it comes to mead, so there's sure to be a style that suits your taste.

How is Mead Made?

Mead is made by fermenting honey with water. The resulting liquid is slightly sweet with complex flavor notes that range from fruity to malty depending on the type of honey used in the fermentation process. Traditionally, mead was made with wildflower honey but today, craft brewers use all manner of varietals including orange blossom, buckwheat, and even lavender! There are also different types of mead such as dry, semi-sweet, sparkling, and even barrel-aged varieties.

If you're looking for a delicious, gluten free alternative to beer, look no further than mead! This ancient beverage has been enjoying a resurgence in popularity in recent years. Whether you're looking for something dry and refreshing or sweet and decadent, there's sure to be a mead that's perfect for you. Cheers!

What Alcoholic Beverages are Gluten Free?

Mead, Hard Ciders, Some Hard Seltzers, Lonkero, Alcoholic Ginger Beer, Gluten Free Beer and Certain Distilled spirits: Brandy, rum, and tequila are naturally gluten-free.

Chopin and Tito's vodkas, Cold River Gin or Schramm Organic Gin, and Queen Jennie Whiskey are gluten-free. Liqueurs: Chartreuse, Cointreau, Disaronno, Grand Marnier, Hennessy, Kahlúa, Sambuca, and Martini are gluten-free.

ARE ANY BEERS NATURALLY GLUTEN FREE?

Typically conventional beer is not gluten free because it's made from malted barley and hops. However there are gluten free alternatives like brown rice and sorghum that can be used in place of malted barely.

WHERE CAN YOU BUY MEAD?

You can buy mead online direct from a meadery or you can see if your local liquor store carries mead. You can buy mead online, Order Mead from Batch Mead, a small batch craft mead producer in Temecula, CA.

Accessibility
Adjust text colors
Checked mark
Adjust heading colors
Checked mark
Adjust background colors
Checked mark